Supported Organisations

The Lord Provost's Malawi Project supports organisations all across Malawi but work is mainly focused in the following areas.

  • Lilongwe

    Lilongwe is the capital and largest city of Malawi with a population of over 1 million people. Named after the Lilongwe river, the city only became the capital in 1975, replacing the colonial capital of Zomba. It has an old and new town, a walled market, a 5 star hotel and a brand new sports stadium with a capacity of 40,000. Lilongwe has received notable financial assistance from China and South Korea. You can travel by train to Zambia and Blantyre in the south of the country from Lilongwe.

  • Dedza

    Dedza is a small town of around 20,000 people named after Dedza mountain. Dedza town administers Dedza District Council which has a population of over 600,000. The Chongoni Rock Art Area, a UNESCO world heritage site, is located just outside the town. There is one tarmacked road through the town, which is located just off the main M1 road from Lilongwe to Blantyre. The Lord Provost's Malawi Project provides support to the Dedza area in collaboration with the Norwich-Dedza Partnership.

  • Blantyre

    Blantyre is the financial and commercial centre of Malawi with a population of around 1 million. The Malawian Revenue Authority (MRA), Malawian Broadcasting Corporation (MBC) and Supreme Court are all based here. Blantyre is named after the hometown of explorer David Livingstone and is home to the oldest building in Malawi. It's located in the south of the country, close to the tea plantations of Thyolo and Mulanje mountain.